Scientific Rationale

Asteroids and trans-Neptunian objects (TNO) are the most numerous in number class of Solar system objects which counts today for 790 thousands of bodies, and this number is constantly growing due to newly discovered ones. The near-Earth asteroids (NEA) and potentially hazardous asteroids (PHA) make sequential subclasses to the asteroid’s population. The latter objects are already the targets of space research and experiments today and are considered as the natural resources in the closest future.

The physical properties of the asteroids are highly variable that makes different the role of non-gravitational forces in their dynamics. Thus, propagation of their future trajectories even at small timescales requires consideration of their physical properties. This is especially important for predicting future close encounters of the potentially hazardous asteroids with the Earth.

Active experiments using space missions to asteroids do not belong anymore to science fiction. In 2018 the space-probe OSIRIS-REx (NASA) reached the asteroid (101955) Bennu, and the space-probe Hayabusa2 (Japanese Space Agency) rendezvoused the asteroid (162173) Ryugu.

The follow-up programs by the small ground-based telescopes can be beneficial for enlarging the number of objects characterized by space missions or large telescopes programs, calibrating the methods used. The Gaia catalog which is a joint effort of the European Space Agency space mission Gaia and the consortium of the universities provides access to 2 milliards of stars with proper motions, parallaxes, three color magnitudes beneficial for highly-accurate astrometry and photometry of asteroids. The Large Synoptic Survey Telescope (LSST) will provide 1.3 petabytes of data per year in the closest future, far more than can be reviewed by humans.

The international workshop is aimed at sharing and discussing recent scientific results and problems on dynamics and physics of asteroids, TNOs and natural satellites, data and methods used, exposing possibilities for follow up programs with the ground-based telescopes, establishing and enforcing collaboration between different research teams. Participation of amateur astronomers is welcome.


    • Small Solar System bodies and natural satellites;
    • Analysis of their observations (astrometry, photometry, polarimetry, spectroscopy, occultations);
    • Gaia catalog and Large Synoptic Survey Telescope;
    • Follow up programs.


English is the working language of the workshop.


    • The abstracts submitted to the workshop are a subject for review and acceptance decision by the Scientific Organizing Committee.
    • The expected number of participants is 50.

Financial Support:

Limited financial support can be provided by the Workshop Organizing Committees to MS or PhD students currently adherent to Turkish universities for participating in the workshop with an oral or poster presentation (only the travel expenses to the workshop within Turkey can be reimbursed). In order to apply for this support, we ask the student to bring to the workshop registration desk: an identification document with photo (ID or passport), a justification paper from the corresponding university, and the tickets.


The Scientific Organizing Committee will recommend the best presentations to publication in peer-reviewed journals. Upon the size of the total volume, the decision will be taken for requesting the publication in either special issue of “Planetary and Space Science” (ISSN: 0032-0633) or “Earth, Moon, and Planets” (ISSN: 0167-9295), or an edited book published by the Cambridge Scholars Publishing, or other options will be considered.


You can download and print the workshop poster in good (1.3 MB) or high (7 MB) quality.


First Announcement and Registration Opened:

April 9, 2019

Deadline for Keynote Speaker Abstract Submission:

July 15, 2019 (23h 59min 59sec UTC)

Deadline for Registration and Abstract Submission:

August 4, 2019 (23h 59min 59sec UTC)

Workshop Opening:

September 4, 2019

Workshop Closure:

September 6, 2019


Scientific Organizing Committee:

Anatoliy Ivantsov (Akdeniz University, Turkey, chair)

Daniel Hestroffer (IMCCE, Paris Observatory, France, co-chair)

Volkan Bakış (Akdeniz University, Turkey)

Alberto Cellino (Astrophysical Observatory of Torino, INAF, Italy)

Siegfried Eggl (LSST, University of Washington, USA)

Zeki Eker (Akdeniz University, Turkey)

Agnieszka Kryszczyńska (Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań, Poland)

Christoph Lhotka (Space Research Institute, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Austria)

Paolo Tanga (Côte d’Azur Observatory, France)

William Thuillot (IMCCE, Paris Observatory, France)

Local Organizing Committee:

Zeki Eker (Akdeniz University, chair)

Murat Kaplan (Akdeniz University)

Gürkan Aslan (Akdeniz University)

Muhammed Fatih Dartıcı (Akdeniz University)

Gökhan Yücel (Akdeniz University)